And so it begins….

I am fat. I am tired of being fat. I am tired of it interfering with the things I enjoy doing, like hiking, walking, playing with my kids, wearing cute clothes, dating….the list is endless. I never wanted to be fat. I was always taught that being overweight was a bad thing. I was put in a weight loss program when I was 11, weighing 136 lbs and 5’4″ tall. Which, by the way, I don’t think I ever was 5’4″ because now I’m only 5’3″, but I digress. I have been on many weight loss programs over the years, but never maintained them. Over the past few years, I have avoided mirrors. I have never been one to allow photos to be taken of me. However, in the past few years a growing sense of self has given me the freedom to no longer run from the camera. The result was a few stunning photographs that left me unable to avoid the truth. I am fat.

I wallowed in this knowledge for the last few months without actually doing much to remedy the situation. Tonight I took my first step and joined a gym. Tomorrow I will meet with a physical trainer (a ‘freebie’ for new membership). I am sure he will try to sell me the services but working within a limited budget I will have to pass. After that I am going to try to take some measurements and set some REALISTIC goals. It took me 38 years to get here, ain’t gonna change overnight. I understand, that for me, there are no quick-fixes for weight loss.

I want to run.

Leave a comment